Day 1 - My Journey Begins Here

Day 1 - My Journey Begins Here

My ALX SE program- August 2022 Cohort

“Do Hard Things” - Fred Swaniker.

My ALX journey officially began today 🥳💻.

The best decision I made today is to wake up early and have my breakfast 🥞. Though it rained throughout the day in the city of Abuja, Nigeria 🇳🇬 I couldn’t be deterred by the weather to begin my journey with #alx on a good note.

The first day was not void of it’s challenges. We were given welcome tasks to help us internalize the use of the different platforms which I thought were well arranged. I belong to several groups on #whatsapp, there were positive interactions and shared learning.

Today was also the #karibu onboarding session and it began much later in the day. It was fun and informative. My highlight was the student who spoke about his first one month in the program. He shared several tips and was an encouraging session in particular.

I’m about to have dinner and shortly after I’ll be ready to rest my eyes and have a good sleep while I prepare for tomorrow. Oh, I forgot to drink water 💧 🤦‍♀️.

If I were to rate my first day, I’ll say 8/10 because I completed my tasks, assisted a peer to understand a key concept, engaged with others and managed my time well. I wish I had more time to study the #harvardcs50 course on #edx however, that will be my priority tomorrow.

@fswaniker thank you for sharing this #softwareengineering opportunity and putting this together!

How was your first day as an #alxaccepted student? How would you rate your output today and why?

Let’s connect and share in the comments. If you’re an August 2022 cohort like me, let’s 👋🏼 in the comments.

#Follow and #Like @mysoftwareprojourney on IG for more updates on my journey.